Feeling Sorry For Yourself?

If you’re not where you want to be at this very moment in your life, it may due to several factors. Maybe you were placed in an unfavorable position by default. Maybe an unexpected event happened that may have put a damper on your future plans. Maybe you made a bad decision and now live every day with regret. Whatever it may be, the worst thing you can do is to feel sorry for yourself.

I deal with people on a daily basis who want to make a change in their lives for the better, but one of the trends I always see emerging from their stories is that they usually feel sorry for themselves. This is where I usually point out that they still can control the outcome of their lives by making the right decisions.

One example of an excuse is: “It’s so hard to eat right with all these fast food places around!”

These restaurants are not forcing you to eat their food. They have ads to persuade you to consume their product. If you consume it, that was YOUR decision, not theirs.

Another example is: “I have no time for anything!”

If someone kept saying they’re always broke, you may think that they’re not budgeting their money well. The same concept goes for time! Time is one of the most precious resources of life. It is ultimately up to you how and where you spend it. If you don’t have enough of it at the end of the day, only you can do something about it.

Here’s a third example that may be common: “I have to do this, and then that, and then this again. I’m so tired and stressed and only had 4 hours of sleep!”

The mere action of complaining about your day will give you unnecessary stress. Let me break down what REAL stress is.

Examples of weak stress: Cramming for a midterm because you didn’t study early enough. Doing a last minute project because you procrastinated. Complaining how you hate your job but don’t do anything to better the situation because you feel like you can’t.

Examples of real stress: Taking enemy fire in a live battlefield. Fighting a fire for 24 hours straight. Being a negotiator in a hostage situation. Not knowing when your next meal will be.

Bottom line is you may not have it as bad as you make yourself believe. I’ve talked to people who have actually gotten defensive and try to justify their sob stories, but that’s the problem. I’ve heard many people say “Well I have to pay my mortgage, you don’t have on yet so you wouldn’t understand” “You don’t have kids yet so you don’t understand.”

I agree, I’m a young up and coming strength coach and I would no idea right now at this point in my life how it would be to raise a family or own a house. I have met and trained many peoples from all walks of life, and as a result have dealt with people who have the same problems but actually take steps towards solving them!

I’ve seen a soccer mom come into the gym at 6am because that’s the only time she can come in before her kids wake up. I’ve seen burnt out lawyers take cooking classes on the weekends because they decided they want a career change. I’ve seen clients work two jobs to take care of their family, but still take night classes because they still want to pursue their goals!

People always tend to focus on their problems and weaknesses instead of their strengths and possible solution.

You want something in life bad enough, you have to work hard for it. There is no easy way out. You don’t like it? Don’t complain about where you’re at then. The funny thing is people who put in the work always find a way to make shit happen.

Ill give you a small personal example. I run this blog, my Youtube channel, and contribute to a fitness website without owning a laptop or PC. It’s simply possible because of today’s high tech society, a computer is so easy to find and use! Whenever I have access to a computer I’m on it. I’ve only recently purchased a smart phone and I’m currently writing this post on it as you read!

A while back I knew I needed to make some type of web presence but I couldn’t afford a laptop (yes even during college I didn’t own one). I knew, however, there was more than one way to do it. The tools are out there to get whatever you need done. It’s all about having the right mentality. And yes when the time comes, I am planning to invest in a laptop of my own.

It’s possible, get up, believe, and make shit happen!

Leave a Reply

